Plymouth County Iowa

Your IP address is





                    SERVICES TO CONTINUE BY PHONE,

                          EMAIL,    US MAIL OR ONLINE




Plymouth County Courthouse re-opens June 1, 2020.


The Plymouth County Courthouse will be open to the public for services on June 1, 2020 with regular Courthouse hours of 8 am to 5 pm.  The public is still being encouraged to continue use county and court services online, or by phone, email, or video conference and to continue to use the USPS mail as much as possible.  The secure drop box will still be available in the north lower level for use on weekdays from 8 am to 5 pm.  It is still being recommended if at all possible, for the public to conduct their business with these alternative options and to use in person options at the Courthouse if unable to otherwise, for the safety of the public and Courthouse employees during the COVID 19 pandemic. 


The State of Iowa Clerk of Court office on the third floor of the Courthouse will be open to the public from 8 am to 4:30 pm beginning June 1, 2020.


At this time, the driver’s license department will operate by appointment only in the Courthouse Annex building on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays by calling 712-546-1663.  The County Zoning and Sanitarian offices located in the Courthouse Annex are only open on Wednesdays from 8 am to 5 pm and the Juvenile Court Services Office in the Courthouse Annex building is open from 8 am to 4:30 pm Monday through Friday.


The public is being asked to use common sense and not to enter the Courthouse if they are sick with COVID 19 or have knowledge of being exposed to the coronavirus and need to quarantine.  The public is being asked to use the CDC and Public Health Department recommended sanitary guidance of protecting themselves while doing business in public places. Wearing of masks by the public is strongly recommended, upon entering the Plymouth County Courthouse.  Social distancing standards of remaining 6 feet apart from other members of the public while waiting for services will be required.  There will be social distance floor markings and signs to direct members of the public when seeking services at each of the respective departments.  Temperatures will not be taken before entering the Courthouse.



Plymouth County Office Directory:

Assessor:  546-4705                                                          Engineer:      546-4559

Auditor:    546-6100                                                           IT and GIS:  546-1260

Recorder:  546-4020                                                          Treasurer:     546-7056 Tax

Attorney:  546-5019                                                                               546-7078 Auto

Conservation:  947-4270                                                    (CLOSED)  546-1663 D. License

Emergency Mgmt:  546-8101                                              Env. Health/Zoning: 546-7516

Veteran’s Affairs:   546-7090                                             Clerk of Courts:  546-4215

Sheriff/LEC: 546-8191                                                       Juvenile Court:   546-1642


Due to the concerns of COVID-19 the Assessor’s office will be doing informal protests of 2020 assessed values over the phone as all Courthouse offices remain closed to the public.  Informal protest appeals will be accepted from April 2 through April 25.   Plymouth County has been declared a disaster county so the 2020 formal protests to the Board of Review may be filed from April 2 to June 5.  The Board of Review will be in session until June 15.   We will email, fax, or mail out an Informal Protest Form or a Disaster Counties Petition to Local Board of Review upon request.  You may also obtain each form by choosing the link below. 

(Click Here)


Plymouth County Driver’s License


The Plymouth County Driver’s License station will be closed until further notice in an effort to slow the spread of Covid19.  The IDPH and CDC have identified public spaces and group gatherings as potential transmission points for Covid19.  Plymouth County Treasurer Shelly Sitzmann, and the Plymouth County Board of Supervisors believe that the safety of all Plymouth County residents as well as County staff should be first priority.  Therefore, Plymouth County’s Driver’s License station will be closed.  We apologize for the inconvenience.  


 Image result for CDC information logo
COVID-19 Guidelines

(Press Release Information)


Send your questions or comments about this web site to Plymouth County. For Accessibilty issure Click Here